Club Committee

Club Chairman

Roy FisherRoy Fisher – 0151 648 7671

Roy has been Chairman for about 15 years now and a member since 1990-ish. He leads Committee meetings and AGMs and co-ordinates ideas, initiatives, issues and events across the sectors of the Club. He is often the first contact new members have with the Club and he tries to run with new members to welcome them and get to know them.

Roy has introduced many initiatives to the Club over the years, such as newsletters, email, Facebook, Twitter and created the first website. He also introduced the Club Handicaps and the Chairman’s Challenge.

He devised and organises the TuffNutz Endurance race and was Race Director of the Wirral Seaside Runs for 180 races over 22 years. He has done 13 marathons (including one sub three hour) and was a sub-60′ 10 miler and a sub-30′ 5 miler. He also is a keen swimmer and cyclist.

Club Secretary

Chris Marsland 

Chris is responsible for the club’s administrative tasks; ensuring we have the required permissions and licences for our races, organising committee meetings and the club AGM. He also manages the Pensby Runner’s Facebook & Twitter pages

He only joined Pensby in 2015 (his first running club) and has found it to be very welcoming and friendly. 2016 wasn’t a good year for his running with work, injuries and sheer laziness taking their toll on his running but he has high hopes for 2017.

Assistant Secretary

David Greendave

David is responsible for assisting with the club’s administrative tasks; ensuring we have the required permissions and licenses for our races, attending committee meetings and also dealing with Health & Safety/Risk Assessments for TuffNutz.   

David is an outdoor enthusiast with a passion for fell running and the challenges that the hills bring.  He has completed numerous mountain marathons and ultra marathons.

Club Captain, Coach (CiRF, FMES) & Fell running

Nigel CNigel Crompton – 07709 895254

As captain Nigel regularly attends club training sessions, ensures that all members are made aware of races that the Club is targeting, ensuring that there is the best possible turn out at these events, is responsible for pre-entries to races funded by the Club, choosing appropriate teams for events and attending races unless delegated to the Vice Captain / League leaders.

As coach he directs coaching across all sections of the club delegating and requiring support from the coaching team where appropriate, develops coaching strategies and develops club coaching capability and consistency. 

Nigel is also an England Athletics Mental Health Ambassador.

Vice Chair, Run Leader (LiRF) & Seaside Runs

Gordon ScholefieldGordon Scholefield – 07773 260775

Gordon has been running for over 30 years and has competed at all distances from 1 to 26.2 miles. He has always preferred the longer distances and has completed over 20 marathons, including 12 in London.

Gordon regularly attends Tuesday club nights and leads a group on a 7/8 mile run. In the Summer it will include many local trails and paths and in the Winter the runs are a mixture of interval and sustained effort work.

Gordon has joint responsibility, with Mark Roberts, for the organisation of the Wirral Seaside Runs.

Vice Captain

Jayne Price

Jayne joined Pensby as a relatively new runner in October 2014. Since then she has completed a number of half and full marathons and credits the club support and training for a series of PBs achieved since becoming a member. She prefers road running but will venture onto new terrain on occasion. Jayne regularly attends Tuesday night sessions and has completed her Leader in Running Fitness (LiRF) qualification.


Andy MorleyAndy Morley – 07973 851376 (mobile)

Began running in 1988 as a member of the Chesapeake Road Runners in Derby, my first race being the Derby Ramathon, the same year. Moved to the Wirral in 1990 (via Newcastle!) and joined PR in 1997, while training for the NY Marathon. I have done London on a number of occasions, the last time dressed as Elvis!, and became the Club Trasurer in 2015. Have recently struggled to get down to Club nights on a regular basis, due to a mixture of work, studies, and injury, but I am looking at a comeback this year, with possibly fell running? Who knows!?


Assistant Secretary (membership)
Andrew SumnerAndy Sumner – 07887 657471

Andy is the membership secretary and doesn’t know how to turn around when going for a run, owns a campervan and a dog which looks like a sheep. He spends his weekends ‘going long’ around the fells and trails of Britain.

Assistant Treasurer

John Keyworth
lesleykeyworth2013@gmail.comJohn Keyworth 2

John has been a club member for over 28 years. For most of this time he has been club treasurer, he is now happy to support Andy in his role. He attends Tuesday and Friday club nights and has a keen interest in fell running. John is also treasurer of the Multi terrain League and liaises with other local clubs to organise the annual series held each September in particular the Royden Park race which Pensby are responsible for.

Co-ordinators and Ex-officio (non – committee)

Gwyn Thomas – 0151-678-3404

Road League and Co-Seaside Run director
Mark Roberts

Chris Nolan

Run Leaders (LiRF)
Gordon Scholefield
Jayne Price
Colin Lamprey

Coaches (CIRF)
Nigel Crompton
Rob Beech